Leave a comment

On Becoming a Deviant and a Sex Geek

Today I became a deviant. Some may argue that this happened a long time ago, but now it’s official. It’s been a rather interesting day what with becoming a sex geek too. It sure as hell beats what I had planned – housework & grocery shopping.

It’s all UltraHedonists fault. It began with her article “Who says casual sex is Soulless?” Who indeed? Ultra-Hedonist (UH) provoked much debate on the topic and yours truly couldn’t resist throwing in her two cents.

It was then clearly my duty as an erotic writer to take the research further and check out her blog. It turns out UH takes her work seriously too. To my delight I saw that on her ‘about’ page she is pictured holding Dr. Seuss’ book ‘Green Eggs and Ham.’ So we are clearly soul sisters on some level.

Her story on a visit to Melbourne’s Sexpo had my eyebrows nearly launching into space. It made for a very amusing and educational read.  Fleshlights? Really? Who knew?

The next step towards deviation was checking out her blogroll. A few clicks later and I was reading the words “Congratulations! You’re now a Deviant.” Happy days! I’m yet to fully discover this site – apparently it’s all about deviant art. You can check it out at: http://www.deviantart.com/. I’ve yet to add a profile or anything. At the moment it’s enough to see ‘deviant: isobellablye’ at the top of the screen. How apt!

Becoming a sex geek was pretty much due to the same process. Checking out UH’s blogroll I came across The Joy of SexGeekdom. Ok…….so it turns out I fit in both the deviant and sex geek category very neatly. The website has a section called “Are you a sex Geek?” and the following definition is provided:

‘ “Sex geek” or “sex nerd” is an identification used by many people in the sex-positive community to describe their unusual, academic, and/or voracious interest in sexual knowledge.’

Yep, that’s me alright.

My next challenge is to be more like a computer geek and work out how to display a blogroll on my site. After all, we do like to share in the deviant community!

Leave a comment